Update/Demo-Version that is available from the <Download> area, may be
used as a perfect viewer version - on LayerManager-CD this is also
Assume this scenario: you are using LayerManager to structurize your
if you want to give your drawings to you customers or related, they will
not see these LayerManager structures nor they can use them.
Solution: You may give them this Test/Demo/Viewer-Version, so
they can see the LayerManager structures and they can also use them; but
the LayerManager structures can not be changed by the viewer version ...
Installing a new version
is really simple: unzip the downloaded files, the setup program (*.exe)
is given. Close all AutoCAD® sessions and run the setup program.
You only need to define the LayerManager's program path (simply install
version ontop of your existing version). When overwriting existing
LayerManager, all user data are untouched !
There is a simple principle: DEMO remains DEMO, LICENCE remains LICENCE.
You can't make anything wrong ...
LayerManager has now been
developed for more than 6 years - LayerManager Professional based on a
windows explorer design has been developed for more than 1.5 years ! The
development is going on for the next years. During all these years,
LayerManager has never (!) lost compatibility to older versions -
compatibility is one of the most important design rules ! The
compatibility aspect is related to LayerManagers own data structures, of
course. LayerManager Professional is downward and upward compatible even
with earliest versions running AutoCAD® R12 DOS; older versions are able
to recognise all LayerManager data from current versions (if the drawing
is saved in older AutoCAD dwg format).There is no problem to use
drawings with LayerManager data strucutres made by LayerManager versions
before version v4.0 (i.e. drawings from AutoCAD® R13 DOS/WIN) without
loosing LayerManager data. This also applies in reverse direction: you
may save your AutoCAD® 2000i drawing with R14 dwg format, and
LayerManager running AutoCAD® R14 will recognise these LayerManager data
structures. Based on the internal design of stored LayerManager data
structures, LayerManager is able to ensure complete compatibility for
future versions – this is guaranteed !
YES - since version v4.1a
(August 2001) LayerManager completely works with AutoCAD LT versions
97/98/2000(i)/2002 in exactly the same way as with AutoCAD in these
versions. The standard installation of LayerManager for AutoCAD
R14 works with AutoCAD LT 97/98, and the standard installation of
LayerManager for AutoCAD 2000(i)/2002 works with the same AutoCAD LT
The Online-Help (Layman.chm)
is also available from LayerManager's start menu program group - and
should also open from there - chm helpfiles are directly displayed by
Windows. If you see an error message, so Window® is not able to open the
helpfile. Only Windows® 98 and Windows® 2000 (or newer) are able to open
CHM-helpfiles. Additionally, when installing Microsoft® IE 4.01 (or
higher) the CHM-helpfile-viewer is installed or updated.
If you can not open the chm-helpfile "Layman.chm" you may do these
Install the "Update for Windows CHM-Help-System" at our download
Install the Microsoft® Internet-Explorer 4.01 or higher (recommended:
can prevent AutoCAD® from purging unused layers. This will always occure
if such layers are a part of layergroups and/or these layers have been
extended by LayerManagers layer description. In generally, there are 2
methods to enable AutoCAD® to purge/erase such layers:
You may manually remove that layers to be purged from any
layergroup and also erase the layer description. Then save all
LayerManager's data using function "Menu/File/Save" ! AutoCAD® should
now be able again to purge these layers.
the better way: simply remove/erase that layers directly inside
LayerManager. Selected layers will automatically removed from any
layergroup, their layer descriptions are removed, all entities
located on those layers will also be erased - at last, selected
layers are removed from the drawing.
Notice: If erased layers still remain, simply retry to erase
that layers within LayerManager. Sometimes 2 passes are needed, before
AutoCAD® recognises that layers as unused ones.
LayerManager window does not appear after program start.
For safety, please enter the LayerManager command "lmpro" – this will
restore all LayerManager windows that could be hidden or behind
AutoCAD®'s window and will take them into windows foreground.If no
LayerManager window will appear again, the window could possibly
reside "out of screen" – this situation can be caused by AutoCAD®/LayerManager
crashes or by copying LayerManagers program folder to another machine
Solution: Exit AutoCAD® and delete the files "Layman.Wpx" and "Layman.ini"
from LayerManager folder (or search for all these files and delete
At the next AutoCAD®/LayerManager start internal defaults will be used
and both configuration files are recreated. Please check LayerManagers
LayerManager window is disappeared during AutoCAD® session.
This may happen, if the "Minimize" button way pressed to have
LayerManager as an icon on desktop or on the taskbar – on the desktop
the icon can be hidden by any other foreground window.
Solution: Please enter the LayerManager command "lmpro" – this
will restore all LayerManager windows that could be hidden or behind
AutoCAD®'s window and will take them into windows foreground.
Normally, all saved window
positions are checked wether these positions are valid. But in very
seldom cases it may happen, that LayerManagers window positions file "Layman.wpx"
is not completely saved, or is damaged during save (e.g. when AutoCAD®
Solution: Close AutoCAD® and delete the file "Layman.wpx" - at
next start, LayerManager will use default positions for all dialogs.
At the AutoCAD® prompt,
enter "lmpro". All hidden, minimized or somehow else invisible
LayerManager windows are restored and placed into the foreground. This
may happen, if you use "Minimize" icon, that places LayerManager into
minimized state (as icon on the desktop, or as button on the taskbar).
On the desktop, it may be hidden by any other window....
Sometimes (very rare
indeed) it may happen, that program dialogs or program windows appear
incomplete – you will recognise this behaviour by missing dialog buttons
and/or too large resp. too small dialog windows.
There are several reasons for :
Improper program shutdowns of AutoCAD or LayerManager
LayerManager installations, that were manually transferred between
Solution for that problem:
Use function "Menu/Extras/Repair Dialogs": this will reset all
dialog windows to their original size and position.
- or –
Close LayerManager and AutoCAD, then delete file "…\Ini\<User>\Layman.wpx"
located in your LayerManager's installation path (<User> ist Ihr
Login-Name). If you can't find that file, simply delete all files "Layman.wpx"
below your LayerManager's installation path. This file "Layman.wpx"
stores all program window and dialog sizes and positions, and may be
corrupted if this behaviour is given. At the next LayerManager start
this file is re-created and all dialogs and windows will appear at
their original position with original size.